How Do We Respond To Tragedy?

I know that I have been asked by people who I know to use your blog to write about different tragedies that I have gone on in America this year. I always tell them no. The answer is simple. There are a lot more blogs or websites that talk about those situations and I know that I read some of them and that I don’t want to add my voice to the conversation. This year, there have been major tragedies that have occurred in the U.S.  Instead of running to social media and posting or talking about these events, creating arguments that end in good or bad responses, etc…  I don’t talk about that on social media. I talk about these tragedies with people in person or on the phone. I believe that our first instinct ( and I know that I need to do a better job of this when tragedies happen) as people is to get on our knees to PRAY to God.  We should pray for the families and friends who have lost loved ones. Pray for the first responders, doctors, nurses, etc… who fighting to save peoples lives.  We need to pray for everyone in general..    My approach to social media is simple.  When tragedies like this happen, is the same way that Jesus Christ went to the cross and shed his precious blood for you and me and died for all of our sins. He was silent when he went to cross and died.  In a way, I have adopted that approach. I will be silent and not talk about tragedies. We all know that there is evil in the world.   Romans 12:21 (ESV) says “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”  How do we overcome evil?  First, We must love others as Christ has loved us. Secondly, and most important, we need to pray as I have stated earlier in the blog.  In Philippians 4: 6-7, Paul challenges the church in Philippi to make known every request before God and God will give them peace and understanding.   I challenge you instead of running to FB, Twitter, IG, etc.. and saying anything about a tragedy or a situation, PRAY, and allow God and his power, grace, mercy, etc.. to work in a way that will change lives.

Thank you so much for reading this post.

Leave a Reply

